Something’s Fishy

What could be better them a cad that let’s you believe that there might be seeing a mermaid and how perfect for a girl’s birthday!  A friend had given me this stamp set from Imaginisce.  So, I don’t know where she bought it from but it has three stamps.  The one you see below.  A large clam shell and an anchor framed in a circle.  But I figured using my new Distress Oxide inks would be a perfect match with this stamp!  Something Fishy

Using the distress blending tool, I blended from the bottom and worked my way to the top right hand corner.  At the bottom I used Cracked Pistachio and then followed it with Broken China.  I knew that I wanted to place the stamp in the middle so I tried to peak the blue Distress Oxide ink in the middle.  From there I added Fossilized Amber and then just from the left side and over a bit to the right I used Spiced Marmalade.  Then at the top right corner I blended the Worn Lipstick.  Giving the illusion of where the light met the horizon and moving up to the source of the light.  And this was my first time to activate this Oxide ink and it was soooo fun to watch!  I placed my hand just above the water line to try and keep those water blotches where the “Ocean” is.  I quickly blotted my water away and loved the results!  I then dried it with my heating tool and then stamped this background piece.  After adhering it at an angle, I cut off the excess and felt it was missing something.  So I then colored in the tail and fin of the “Fish, mermaid, merman????”  who knows what it is tail!  (That’s the fun I think.)  The colored pencils I used are Faber Castell metalic pencils and then added some Nuvo Crystal Drops in Gloss Caribbean Ocean to finish it off.  I just loved how the ocean and sun light made it’s own rainbow and I made this with both #sssmchallenge in mind and #ssswchallenge in mind!  Thank you for the opportunity in sharing this fun!

Blessings, Anna

Leave a comment