Mermaid Wishes

Newton’s Nook has a new challenge until the end of this week and really I keep thinking that the possibilities of a doily is endless!  If you want to know more about Newton’s Nook’s Ink Paws Challenge, click on the picture below!

IP 45

Last week I received a whole new to me stamps from my friend Penny and even though this set is not new to Newton’s Nook, it is to me!  And she also included some doilies!!!!  Talk about perfect timing!!!  So this challenge has given me a great excuse in using my new stamps and showed me how I can create a card in a way that would not have necessarily thought of doing so before!

Because the challenge is to use a doily… this card has the doilies are the ocean and the edges are to look like waves of the ocean. The mermaids were colored with my Zig Clean color brush markers and faded out a bit with my aqua brush!  The background was created by blending Spiced Marmalade and Fossilized Amber Distress Oxide Inks on watercolor paper.  It felt like it needed something, so the stamp set has this cute little seaweed and I tried it out on the back of the card base to see which ink would work best against these dard doilies.  It ended up being the Chipped Paint Distress Oxide Ink.  It was topped off with a sentiment for someone’s birthday and then adhered to the card base!

20170425_064122

Love the “beachy” feel I get when looking at these vibrant colors and I have so much fun thinking of new ways using a standard doily!!!!

Thank you for stop and visiting my blog, comments are always welcomed!!!

Blessings – Anna

6 thoughts on “Mermaid Wishes

  1. Jen says:

    This is so fun! I love all the ways you are thinking of using doilies in this challenge! I never would have thought to create waves but I love how it looks! Those mermaids are super cute peeking out from behind them! Thanks for linking up again to our Inky Paws Challenge!
    -Jen {Newton’s Nook Designs}

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Indy says:

    What a delightful ocean scene! I love your creativity in using the doilies as waves! Your mermaids are also very pretty! Thanks so much for joining us at Inky Paws Challenge! Hope you’ll join us again this Monday for a new challenge!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

